SPECIAL PROJECTS SPECIAL PROJECTS

Erró, les grands tableaux 2018, Galerie Ernst Hilger, stand B23

Erró is to be counted among the major figures of the European avant-garde of the 1960s. In the history of the art of that period, his name is associated not only with the renewal of pictorial figuration, because of his invention of narrative collage-paintings of critical or satirical intent, but also with the happenings movement and the wave of experimental cinema. Although he is often attached to artistic groups like Surrealism, Narrative Figuration or Pop Art, his work cannot be reduced to any of them. In contemporary art, he has remained a free agent.
With the support of : Reykjavík Art Museum.

Hungarian Focus - Art Market Budapest – Inda Gallery + Viltin Gallery, stand E1

Art Market Budapest, the Central and Eastern Europe’s international contemporary art fair, presents at Art Paris Art Fair 2018 a special focus highlighting three generations of Hungarian women artists represented by two leading galleries art galleries from Budapest, Inda and Viltin.
Presented artists: Marianne Csáky, Agnes Eperjesi, Ilona Lovas, Zsófia Schweger www.artmarketbudapest.hu

Misk Art Institute, Riyadh
An overview on the emerging contemporary Saudi art scene, stand B17

The Misk Art Institute is a new organization operating under the auspices of the Misk Foundation, established by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud. Led by Saudi artist Ahmed Mater, the institute was created to encourage grassroots artistic production in Saudi Arabia and enable cultural diplomacy and international exchange. In inaugurating the institute’s local and international program, the foundation aims to inspire dialogue within Saudi Arabia and the world. For Art Paris Art Fair, Misk Art Institute unveils the works of 9 artists, representatives of the emerging contemporary Saudi art scene: Ahmed Angawi (1981), Amr Alngmah (1982), Eiman Elgibreen (1981) Halah Alfadl (1985), Lulwah AL Hamoud (1967), Rawan Almqbas (1995), Sarah Al-Abdali (1989), Sarah Shaiban, Ayman Zedani (1984).

Oscar Rabin,
90 years on, Never at rest, stand G9

The canvas of Oscar Rabin’s life has always been rough and somewhat jagged. Born in Moscow, he spent first half of his life (fifty years) in the USSR. In his second half of life, for the last forty years, Rabin has been living in Paris but the atmosphere of Moscow still lingers in his studio. His paintings, or his “images”, as he calls them, are now owned by the best museum and private collections in the world. Oscar Rabin’s art has stood the test of time by remaining creative, visionary and relevant.
With the support of : Russian Day and Russian Museum

Alexia Turlin, "L’art c’est la vie bordel” (Art is life for God’s sake!), Galerie Rosa Turetsky (Geneva), North Bar / South Bar

We've all taken a break and drunk a coffee some time or other - and who has never torn the corner off a sachet of sugar and poured the contents into their coffee or tea? By making a connection between her artistic practice and day-to-day life, Alexia Turlin turns this trivial gesture into a "little" artistic intervention. Little in size perhaps, but her entertaining idea nevertheless has the potential to take on a particular resonance and engage with visitors because of its ability to surreptitiously amuse. In fact, thousands of sachets of sugar signed by the Swiss artist will be distributed at each of the food outlets at Art Paris Art Fair. Each sachet sports a memorable, cursive message: "L'art c'est la vie bordel" (Art is life for God's sake!). Whether your preference is for white or brown sugar, each sachet will give you food for thought. And if you've heard of Robert Filliou, it is a fine tribute to an artist who is famous for having done away with the separation between life and art in his work, convinced as he was that: "Art is what makes life more interesting than art".
A project by Galerie Rosa Turetsky.

Agnes Eperjesi, Twins, 1996, H.100 x L.60cm, courtesy Inda Gallery
  • Agnes Eperjesi, Twins, 1996, H.100 x L.60cm, courtesy Inda Gallery
Lulwah Al Homoud, Al Malik, 2017, Mixed media on canvas, 230 x 230cm, courtesy Misk Art Institute
  • Lulwah Al Homoud, Al Malik, 2017, Mixed media on canvas, 230 x 230cm, courtesy Misk Art Institute
Alexia Turlin, L'art c'est la vie bordel, 2017 ©Annik Wetter, courtesy Galerie Rosa Turetsky
  • Alexia Turlin, L'art c'est la vie bordel, 2017 ©Annik Wetter, courtesy Galerie Rosa Turetsky
Erró, After the bullfight, 2012, Acrylic on canvas, 140x240cm, courtesy Galerie Ernst Hilger
  • Erró, After the bullfight, 2012, Acrylic on canvas, 140x240cm, courtesy Galerie Ernst Hilger
Oscar Rabine, Signal et Vache qui rit - 2002 Huile et technique mixte sur toile, 100x81cm
  • Oscar Rabine, Signal et Vache qui rit - 2002 Huile et technique mixte sur toile, 100x81cm

PROJETS SPECIAUX

PROJETS SPECIAUX

Erró, les grands tableaux 2018
Galerie Ernst Hilger, stand B23

Erró compte parmi les figures importantes de l’avant-garde européenne des années 1960 et, dans l’histoire de l’art de cette période, son nom est associé non seulement au renouveau de la figuration picturale, à travers l’invention de tableaux-collages narratifs à visée critique ou satirique, mais aussi au mouvement des happenings et à la vague du cinéma expérimental. Bien que souvent rattaché à des groupes artistiques, comme le surréalisme, la Figuration narrative ou le Pop Art, il n’est réductible à aucun d’eux. Il est un électron libre de l’art contemporain.
Avec le soutien de : Reykjavík Art Museum.

Focus hongrois – Art Market Budapest – Galerie Inda + Galerie Viltin, stand E1

Art Market Budapest, la foire internationale d’art contemporain d’Europe Centrale et Orientale, propose à l’occasion d’Art Paris 2018 un focus dédié à la promotion de trois générations d’artistes femmes hongroises représentées par deux galeries majeures de Budapest, Inda et Viltin.
Artistes présentées: Marianne Csáky, Agnes Eperjesi, Ilona Lovas, Zsófia Schweger.
www.artmarketbudapest.hu

Misk Art Institute, Riyad
Un regard sur la scène émergente saoudienne, stand B17

Misk Art Institute est une organisation placée sous l’égide de la fondation Misk initiée par le Prince héritier Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud dans le cadre du plan vision 2030. Dirigé par l’artiste saoudien Ahmed Mater, l’institut a été créé afin d’encourager la production artistique en Arabie Saoudite tout en développant la diplomatie culturelle et les échanges internationaux. En inaugurant le programme local et international de l’institut et en faisant de ce dernier un centre culturel nouveau et important reliant l’Arabie Saoudite au reste du monde, la fondation vise à promouvoir le dialogue à l’intérieur du Royaume et avec les autres pays. Pour Art Paris, Misk Art Institute dévoile les œuvres de 9 artistes, représentants de la jeune scène artistique contemporaine saoudienne : Ahmed Angawi (1981), Amr Alngmah (1982), Eiman Elgibreen (1981) Halah Alfadl (1985), Lulwah AL Hamoud (1967), Rawan Almqbas (1995), Sarah Al-Abdali (1989), Sarah Shaiban, Ayman Zedani (1984).

Oscar Rabine
90 ans, toujours connecté, stand G9

La toile de vie d’Oscar Rabine a été déchirée brusquement. Depuis quarante ans, il vit en France mais l’esprit de Moscou est toujours présent dans son atelier parisien. Le mystère de son destin s’est tissé comme un patchwork fin et sophistiqué entre ces deux époques. Rabine n’est rentré en Russie qu’après la Pérestroïka. Ce retour, glorieux grâce à ses oeuvres, se traduisit par des expositions, au Musée Russe de Saint-Pétersbourg, à la Galerie Trétiakov, ainsi qu’au Musée Pouchkine de Moscou. Ses « images », comme il les appelle, ont trouvé leur place dans les meilleurs musées et collections du monde. Oscar Rabine résiste au temps, toujours original et créatif.
Avec le soutien de : Russian Day and Russian Museum

Alexia Turlin, performance "L'art c'est la vie bordel", Galerie Rosa Turetsky (Genève), Bar Nord / Bar Sud

Boire un café. Faire une pause. Qui n’a pas pris l’habitude de déchirer un sachet de sucre pour en verser le contenu dans son café ou dans son thé ? Sans séparer sa pratique d’artiste de la vie de tous les jours, Alexia Turlin met ce geste quotidien en exergue au travers d’une petite intervention. Petite par sa taille, certes, cette performance amusée contient néanmoins le potentiel d’une résonnance autrement plus importante par son pouvoir d’infiltration et d’amusement. Des milliers de sachets de sucre signés par l’artiste suisse sont en effet distribués à tous les points de restauration d’Art Paris. Ceux-ci ont la particularité d’être affublés d’une cursive ronde assénant : « L’art c’est la vie bordel ». Sucre granulé blanc ou brun confiné en sachets individuels ne se consomme ainsi pas sans réflexion. Et pour qui connaît, rend un joli hommage à Robert Filliou célèbre pour avoir aboli l’écart entre la vie et l’art par le biais de différentes manifestations, convaincu que : « L’art est ce qui rend la vie plus intéressante que l’art ».
Un projet de la galerie Rosa Turetsky.

Erró, After the bullfight, 2012, Acrylic on canvas, 140x240cm, courtesy Galerie Ernst Hilger
  • Erró, After the bullfight, 2012, Acrylic on canvas, 140x240cm, courtesy Galerie Ernst Hilger
Oscar Rabine, Signal et Vache qui rit - 2002 Huile et technique mixte sur toile, 100x81cm
  • Oscar Rabine, Signal et Vache qui rit - 2002 Huile et technique mixte sur toile, 100x81cm
Alexia Turlin, L'art c'est la vie bordel, 2017 ©Annik Wetter, courtesy Galerie Rosa Turetsky
  • Alexia Turlin, L'art c'est la vie bordel, 2017 ©Annik Wetter, courtesy Galerie Rosa Turetsky
Agnes Eperjesi, Twins, 1996, H.100 x L.60cm, courtesy Inda Gallery
  • Agnes Eperjesi, Twins, 1996, H.100 x L.60cm, courtesy Inda Gallery
Lulwah Al Homoud, Al Malik, 2017, Mixed media on canvas, 230 x 230cm, courtesy Misk Art Institute
  • Lulwah Al Homoud, Al Malik, 2017, Mixed media on canvas, 230 x 230cm, courtesy Misk Art Institute