ART PARIS 2023


ART PARIS 2023

The Leading Spring Event for Modern and Contemporary Art

Both regional and cosmopolitan, Art Paris will be celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2023. The fair will run from 30 March to 2 April 2023 at the Temporary Grand Palais Éphémère, bringing together 130 modern and contemporary art galleries from some 20 countries.

Art Paris promotes discovery and re-discovery thanks to its sectors "Solo Show" and "Promises" (dedicated to young galleries), not to mention its themes led by guest curators who contribute to the originality of this leading spring event in Paris.


Art Paris 2023, two themes dealing with notions of commitment and exile

  • Art & Commitment: A Focus on the French Scene by Marc Donnadieu

    After Hervé Mikaeloff in 2021, Alfred Pacquement in 2022, in 2023 independent exhibition curator and curator in chief at Photo Élysée (Lausanne, Switzerland) Marc Donnadieu will be presenting his perspective on the French scene with a selection of 20 artists of different generations amongst participating galleries. His selection is based around these artists’ approach to the concept of “commitment”, whether a commitment to art, or to the world, its history and what is happening today.

    According to Marc Donnadieu: “If art doesn’t change the world, some works of art do resist and, in their own way, counter the attacks to which the world is subjected. Such works make us more clairvoyant; they foster empathy and emancipation, obliging us to open our eyes to art and the world, to both their histories and current affairs. It is this commitment made by artists and their art that I want to put in the spotlight and contrast with the obscurity that is darkening the outlook today.”

  • Exile: Dispossession and Resistance, by Amanda Abi Khalil

    Independent exhibition curator and founder of Beirut’s Temporary Art Platform (TAP) Amanda Abi Khalil will be selecting around twenty international artists from participating galleries based around the theme of Exile: Dispossession and Resistance.


    "Solo Show": A Sector in Favour of Monographic Exhibitions

    Art Paris encourages the presentation of monographic exhibitions spread throughout the fair. These solo shows allow visitors to discover or rediscover in depth the work of modern, contemporary or emerging artists. The "Solo Show" sector is specifically highlighted in the fair’s communication and promotional materials.


    "Promises": Supporting Young Galleries and Emerging Artists

    "Promises", a sector focusing on young galleries created less than six years ago, provides a forward-looking analysis of cutting-edge contemporary art. Participating galleries may present up to three artists and the fair finances 45% of their exhibitor fees.


    Art Paris: The First Art Fair to Implement a Sustainable Approach

    Art Paris is an art fair with a regional focus that gives pride of place to proximity and local sustainable solutions, especially in terms of transport and visitor management. In what was a first for an art fair, Art Paris 2022 made a commitment to developing a sustainable approach to its organisation based on a life cycle assessment (LCA). This pioneering approach made possible thanks to the help of Karbone Prod, in collaboration with environmental consultants Solinnen, will be renewed in 2023.

    The life cycle assessment (LCA) takes into account a multitude of criteria to provide an overall view of the environmental impact of a product or process, listing and quantifying the materials and energy used throughout a product’s entire lifetime. Whether the subject of consideration is a product, a service or a process, every stage of its life cycle is considered to establish an inventory of the relevant inputs and outputs from cradle to grave: extraction and processing of raw materials (including energy sources), manufacturing, distribution, usage and end-of-life disposal, not forgetting the various phases of transport.


    Art Paris: The Place To Be!

    Paris is in the midst of an exceptional period of cultural and artistic renaissance illustrated by the opening of new galleries and venues, the renovation of existing cultural institutions and the inauguration of new ones. More than ever before, the City of Light is asserting its role as the place to be for contemporary art. The activities on offer as part of the VIP programme, reserved for collectors and art professionals (by invitation only), bear witness to the transformation of Paris’s art scene.


    Making Contemporary Art Accessible to All

    Art Paris is dedicated to making contemporary art accessible to the widest audience, offering some 80 guided tours of the fair as well as a number of specific tools, in particular its elaborate yet eminently practical website which presents a virtual visit of the fair and filters allowing visitors to search for works by artist, price, geographical provenance and technique...

    ART PARIS 2023, 30 MARCH - 02 APRIL, GRAND PALAIS ÉPHÉMÈRE, 25th edition

    ART PARIS 2024, 04 - 07 APRIL, GRAND PALAIS ÉPHÉMÈRE, 26th edition

    In 2022: 130 exhibitors from 23 countries • more than 900 artists represented • 37% foreign participants • 63% French galleries • 30% newcomers • 68,787 visitors



    EXTENSIVE MEDIA PRESENCE BOTH IN FRANCE AND INTERNATIONALLY

    With more than 115 advertisements in the French and international press • 105 media partners • 135 banner ads • 568 TV & radio commercials • 2,544 posters throughout Paris • 707 accredited journalists, 635 French journalists and 72 internationals • some 150 news articles in 10 countries • 498,255 pages viewed on www.artparis.com • 137,371 single visitors



    SELECTION COMMITTEE

    • Carina Andres Thalmann, Galerie Andres Thalmann (Zurich)
    • Romain Degoul, Galerie Paris-Beijing (Paris)
    • Pierre-Arnaud Doucède, Galerie PACT (Paris)
    • Diane Lahumière, Galerie Lahumière (Paris)
    • Marie-Ange Moulonguet, art consultant and collector
    • Emilie Ovaere-Corthay, Galerie Jean Fournier (Paris)
    • Pauline Pavec, Galerie Pauline Pavec (Paris)

    Sign up to the newsletter of the fair

ART PARIS 2023

ART PARIS 2023

Le rendez-vous majeur pour l’art moderne et contemporain au printemps

Foire régionale et cosmopolite, en appui de la scène française, Art Paris fête son 25e anniversaire en 2023. Cette édition réunira 130 galeries d’art moderne et contemporain du 30 mars au 2 avril 2023 au Grand Palais Ephémère.

Art Paris favorise la découverte ou la redécouverte grâce notamment aux secteurs « Solo Show » et « Promesses », (dédié aux jeunes galeries), sans oublier ses thématiques portées par des commissaires invités qui contribuent à l’originalité de ce grand rendez-vous de printemps à Paris.


Art Paris 2023, deux thématiques autour des questions de l'engagement et de l'exil

  • Art & Engagement : un regard sur la scène française par Marc Donnadieu

    Après Hervé Mikaeloff en 2021, Alfred Pacquement en 2022, c'est au tour de Marc Donnadieu, commissaire d’expositions indépendant et conservateur en chef à Photo Élysée (Lausanne, Suisse), de livrer pour 2023 sa vision de la scène hexagonale à travers une sélection de 20 artistes de différentes générations basée sur le regard que portent ces artistes sur la notion d'« engagement », que ce soit envers l'art et l'œuvre eux-mêmes ou vis-vis du monde, son histoire ou son actualité.

    Selon Marc Donnadieu : « Si l'art ne change pas le monde, il y a des œuvres qui résistent et s’opposent à leur façon aux coups portés. Des œuvres qui forcent à la clairvoyance, à l'émancipation, à l’empathie et nous obligent à ouvrir notre regard sur l'art comme sur le monde, leur histoire ou leur actualité. C'est cet engagement là des artistes et de leurs œuvres que je souhaite mettre en lumière face aux ténèbres qui assombrissent le ciel de notre aujourd'hui. »

  • L’Exil : dépossession et résistances par Amanda Abi Khalil

    Amanda Abi Khalil, commissaire d’expositions indépendante et fondatrice de TAP (Temporary Art Platform) à Beyrouth orchestrera une sélection d’une vingtaine d’artistes internationaux sur le thème de L'Exil : dépossession et résistances parmi les projets des galeries participantes.

    « Solo Show » : privilégier les expositions monographiques

    Art Paris encourage la présentation d'expositions monographiques disséminées au sein de la foire. Celles-ci permettent au public de découvrir ou redécouvrir en profondeur le travail d’artistes modernes, contemporains ou émergents. Le secteur « Solo Show » bénéficie d’une mise en avant spécifique dans les outils de communications de la foire.


    « Promesses », le soutien aux jeunes galeries et à la création émergente

    « Promesses », secteur dédié aux jeunes galeries de moins de six ans d’existence, offre un éclairage prospectif sur la pointe avancée de l’art contemporain. Les galeries peuvent présenter un maximum de trois artistes et 45 % du coût de la participation est pris en charge par la foire.


    Art Paris : première foire éco-conçue

    Foire régionale qui favorise la proximité, le local, le circuit court en termes de transports et de flux de visiteurs, Art Paris s’est pleinement engagée en 2022 dans le développement d’une démarche d’éco-conception, qui s’appuie sur l’analyse de cycle de vie (ACV), une première dans le monde des salons d’art. Cette démarche pionnière confiée à l’agence Karbone Prod et menée en collaboration avec le cabinet Solinnen sera reconduite en 2023.

    *À propos de l’analyse de cycle de vie : L’analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) est l'outil le plus abouti en matière d’évaluation globale et multicritère des impacts environnementaux. Celui-ci recense et quantifie, tout au long de la vie des produits, les flux physiques de matière et d’énergie associés aux activités humaines. Qu’il s’agisse d’un bien, d’un service, voire d’un procédé, toutes les étapes du cycle de vie d’un produit sont prises en compte pour l’inventaire des flux, du « berceau à la tombe » : extraction des matières premières énergétiques et non énergétiques nécessaires à la fabrication du produit, distribution, utilisation, collecte et élimination vers les filières de fin de vie ainsi que toutes les phases de transport.


    Paris, The place to be!

    Ouverture de galeries et de lieux, rénovation ou inauguration de nouvelles institutions, Paris connaît un exceptionnel renouveau culturel et artistique. La Ville Lumière s’affirme plus que jamais comme the place to be pour l’art contemporain. Les rendez-vous du programme VIP, réservés aux collectionneurs et aux professionnels de l’art invités, rendront compte de cette transformation de la scène artistique parisienne.


    Rendre accessible l'art contemporain

    Art Paris a pour vocation de rendre accessible l'art contemporain à un public élargi. Quelque quatre-vingts visites de « décryptage » sont organisées avec l'Observatoire de l'art contemporain. Des outils spécifiques sont mis à disposition du public, en particulier le site Internet avec la visite virtuelle de la foire, et ses filtres de recherche par artiste, ordre de prix, origine géographique, technique...

    ART PARIS 2023, 30 MARS - 02 AVRIL, GRAND PALAIS ÉPHÉMÈRE, 25ème édition

    ART PARIS 2024, 04 - 07 AVRIL, GRAND PALAIS ÉPHÉMÈRE, 26ème édition

    En 2022 : 68.787 visiteurs de 45 pays
    130 exposants de 23 pays • plus de 900 artistes représentés • 37 % de participation étrangère • 63 % de galeries françaises • 30 % de nouvelles présences



    UNE COUVERTURE MÉDIA PUISSANTE EN FRANCE ET À L’INTERNATIONAL

    103 partenaires médias • 350 retombées presse • 571 spots télé et radios • 2 986 affiches au cœur de Paris • 400 journalistes accrédités de 10 pays • 447 730 pages vues sur artparis.com • 136 347 visiteurs uniques



    COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION

    • Carina Andres Thalmann, Galerie Andres Thalmann (Zurich)
    • Romain Degoul, Galerie Paris-Beijing (Paris)
    • Pierre-Arnaud Doucède, Galerie PACT (Paris)
    • Diane Lahumière, Galerie Lahumière (Paris)
    • Marie-Ange Moulonguet, collectionneuse et consultante
    • Emilie Ovaere-Corthay, Galerie Jean Fournier (Paris)
    • Pauline Pavec, Galerie Pauline Pavec (Paris)

    S’inscrire à la newsletter de Art Paris